Home > bipolar, lactose, Lamotrigine, meds, side-effects > Lamotrigine Revisited…

Lamotrigine Revisited…

I was doing great on Lamotrigine and really looking forward to using it–then the usual complication reared its ugly head. The medication is loaded with lactose. I didn’t notice with one tablet, and I thought it was other things with two tablets, but with three tablets I had a non-stop lactose reaction. So I went back down to two tablets, but the reaction didn’t go away. I went down to one tablet (after all I had been on two for two weeks and three for only two days) and still kept having a bad lactose reaction. Tonight has been about a week and I’m going to go off entirely.

My psychiatrist, who is retiring next month, is impossible to get a hold of, so I feel like I’m on my own. I don’t like taking myself off a med on my own, but I had no choice in this case. Maybe my next psychiatrist will put me on the one of the lactose-free versions of the drug (chewable Lamictal or dissolving Lamictal).

  1. May 11, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    Oh my gosh! I had no idea! I’m lactose intolerant and I just got bumped up to two tablets. Just when I thought everything was going smoothly.

  2. May 11, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    Well it may yet go smoothly for you. I’m *very* lactose intolerant, so your mileage may vary. I’d say don’t worry unless you start having unexplained reactions.

    I got through to my psychiatrist last night and he called the pharmacy and ordered chewable Lamictal or dissolving Lamictal (depending on what they can get in) for me. Neither has lactose in it. I’m looking forward to getting back on this horse!

  3. May 19, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    Man, that sucks! So sorry to hear that 😦

    Hope you have found a solution by now

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

