Home > blog, mania, meta discussion, morality, normal, philosophy, psychosis > My Biases Revealed…

My Biases Revealed…

I am biased, therefore this blog is biased.

  • I believe in the Golden Rule: treat others as you yourself want to be treated.
  • I believe in harming no one unless it is to prevent a greater harm.[1]
  • I only believe in what can be measured.
  • I only believe in experiences that can be repeated (or at least shared)[2].
  • I believe that collective rights and individual rights are mutually exclusive.
  • I believe that individual rights are what are important.
  • I believe that living human beings are sacred.
  • I believe that people and their ideas are always separate.
  • I believe that no idea is sacred.
  • I believe that some ideas are better than others.[3]
  • I believe that no idea is above investigation.
  • I believe that no idea is above mockery. This includes my own most cherished ideas.
  • I believe that all people have the right to be non-conformist.
  • I believe that collectively we should try to do things which are difficult or impossible to do individually.[4]

I would gladly take my most cherished beliefs and give them to my smartest opponent to have them torn to shreds. Imagine what I would learn! In fact, I used to do just that on the Internet and by voraciously reading religious books. I learned a great deal, but I don’t have the months of manic energy to devote to it any more.

[1]I believe that “greater harm” has to be very narrowly defined. I’m very suspicious of “for the greater good” nonsense. I would almost limit it to physical harm against a second-party.

[2]Take psychotic hallucinations, for example. I do not believe in the truth of those because the experiences cannot be shared. Therefore, they are not real outside of my head. If you hear the voice of god, and you’re the only one who can, I have some bad news for you (and some good news–you can be saved).

[3]This is almost impossible to qualify.

[4]Armies, police, fire-stations, postal services, roads, barn-raisings, and yes I’ll say it, medical care.

  1. April 2, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    Nice – being up-front about assumptions, beliefs, and biases is refreshing. I should make a post like this. Thanks for the idea!

  2. April 5, 2012 at 10:08 am

    Great idea! It’s a refreshing post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

