Home > bipolar, depression, doctors, meds > Status Report #10 (My Doctor is Retiring)

Status Report #10 (My Doctor is Retiring)

Well, I found out yesterday that my long-time psychiatrist is retiring in July. I’ve been seeing him since 2003 and while I had another doctor before him, that doctor retired after only a few visits. In Ontario it can take 4-6 months to get a new psychiatrist, so if I start now I might have a replacement in August or September. This doctor was a good doctor as far as I’m concerned. He did very little psychoanalysis; his approach was more of asking what were my symptoms and prescribing the meds to control them. I know a lot of people would be horrified by that approach, but it was just what I needed.

I suppose that going to a new doctor will be like starting over, to a degree. I suppose I can just cut-and-paste parts of this blog (maybe he or she doesn’t need to see the post on bullshit), fill in some more detail (did I mention my mother is bipolar?), and print it out. Seriously. On a positive note, I used to work right in downtown Toronto, so my doctor is in downtown Toronto. Now I live and work in the greater Toronto area (GTA), 40km away, so this is my chance to get a doctor closer to where I live.

At the moment I am taking Divalproex and lithium, but for a long time my doctor has wanted to put me on Lamotrigine, which is yet another mood stabilizer–this one also effective against depression. I was on it for a short time a few years ago but I lost my health coverage. Now I have my health coverage back, so we are trying Lamotrigine again. Anything that keeps away the depression is fine by me. If it doesn’t work I can stop it.

  1. April 1, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    Yeah Lamotrigine is awesome. Best thing about it is that it works just like Depakene without any weight gain side effects. I had blurry vision after I took it in the middle of the night because of it, but you get over that quickly. Since Lamotrigine, I haven’t been depressed once, and all hypomania that started was controlable. I’m supposed to be taking Lamotrigine alone, but I get hypomanic right away if I stop my tiny 1.5 mg dose of haloperidol. Funny name, halo. Take your halo, stay an angel, don’t be a manic devil 😀

  2. April 1, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    As for the doctors, I prefer the emtionless cold blooded types. I have a medical condition that requires medical attention, not a psychological one. Leave what is for the psychiatrists to the psychiatrist, what is for the psychologists to the psychologist.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

