Home > anti-psychotics, lactose, meds, side-effects > The Lactose Saga Continues

The Lactose Saga Continues

This week I’ll start getting off of Perphenazine, which has lactose, and I’ll start getting injections of Modecate, which in it’s injectable form does not have lactose. The injections are every three weeks.

Once again I am spinning the pharmacological wheel and am hoping for the best. I was going to say that this time I might develop tardive dyskenesia (which are involuntary facial spasms and which are possible with any of the older anti-psychotics) but when I expressed concern to my doctor on Friday he told me I already had the first stages. I didn’t even know. I guess the possible side-effects of Modecate are nothing new compared to perphenazine or even rhisperidone.

With luck soon I’ll go back to being only mildly lactose intolerant, like I was before I started taking the Perphenazine.

On Wednesday I said “the heck with it” and had real pizza with cheese on it. I was sick[1] for two days, but it was worth it. I should be thankful I’m only lactose-intolerant and not allergic. I think people who are allergic get life-threateningly sick.

[1] “Sick” is my euphemism for profound diarrhea and leaking bowels (it’s actually worse than I’ll describe here).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

