Home > bipolar, depression, doctors, gay, LGBT, psychosis, symptoms > Keeping Up Appearances

Keeping Up Appearances

I’m a gay man and when I was a gay teenager I desperately wanted to be straight. I tried for 10 years. In the early 1990s, the information about ex-gay therapy began to appear on the Internet. I learned that it was the opinion of some therapists themselves that ex-gay men would never be cured. That, like a broken pot that had been put back together they would always bear the “scars” of being gay. I also read the opinion that as long as the ex-gay man acted outwardly as if he was cured, no matter what he felt inside, he could be said to be cured. It was then that I realized that ex-gay therapy was a complete sham. More recent revelations about ex-gay therapy have only re-enforced this opinion.

The parallels between ex-gay therapy and treatment for bipolar disorder are only superficial.

My doctor and I have often discussed the fact that there is no cure for bipolar disorder. Every so often we get our hopes up about a remission, but more often than not it is just an extra long “up” mood swing and me being selective about the symptoms I report to him. The depression and the mania always come back. So, we don’t talk about remission much any more. Also, considering that I am on a fair bit of medication, my psychoses are getting worse.

What prompted this post, and why I included the bit about ex-gay therapy at the top, is that my doctor recently asked me not to talk to people, except him, about the crazy stuff (not his word, obviously) any more. I know the situation is different. We’re not pretending I’m cured. I’m not pretending I’m not bipolar. However, I suspect I have crossed a line where the stuff going on in my head can scare the people around me. I’m hearing voices in the room, which seems perfectly natural to me, but which I know is pretty creepy to anyone else. So now, as my doctor suggested, I have to keep “two sets of books”. One set of books for what I’m experiencing; and the other set for what I suspect is real. I have to make sure that I only react to the real set. I’m sure this is pretty standard psychiatric advice. It’s probably even in a textbook somewhere.

I’ve thought about it. Don’t I have a right to my own reality? I mean, I certainly do as a gay man. Why not as a bipolar man (or whatever I am)? My decision as Travis is that my psychotic reality is the result of malfunctions in my brain. As a gay man I am uncommon but otherwise no less functional[1], but as a psychotic man I think by almost any measure I am dysfunctional. My decision as Travis is that the objective physical world (not necessarily congruent with any particular philosophy) is a far better place to inhabit than a psychotic world where there are few predictable rules.

[1] Many right-wingers would argue that LBGTQ people are dysfunctional but I disagree. Usually the arguments revolve around reproduction, but we can reproduce or adopt just like everyone else. Otherwise the arguments involve studies about behaviour that have been disproved or fabricated.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

