Home > bipolar, depression, meds, symptoms, victory > The Depression is Mostly Over

The Depression is Mostly Over

I’m still a bit tired, but the despair is gone and I’ve been able to do computer programming for sustained periods of time lately. That means the depression is basically over. For sure this time. It’s not just wishful thinking. The ability to do computer programming has always been my truest indicator of how healthy I am. It’s something you can’t fake or lie about.

I don’t know why I always get depressed in October, but I do. None of my other mood swings follow a schedule but this one does. Except this year it came about a week later and it only lasted just over a month. Usually it lasts well into the new year (and it’s hard to tell when it goes away). I’m sure the difference this year is because of the new med combination (lithium carbonate, divalproex sodium[1], and perphenazine). This fall’s milder depression counts as a big victory in my books, for the first time since I was a teenager.

[1] I guess it’s called Depakote in the USA.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

