Home > bipolar, lactose, meds, side-effects > Medications and Lactose (Part 2)

Medications and Lactose (Part 2)

I am lactose-intolerant and perphenazine, which I really like, contains lactose. When I saw my psychiatrist last week we went through many alternative medications and I checked each one on my phone with Google. They all contained lactose. We discovered that the liquid form of perphenazine does not contain lactose, so he prescribed me that. Later, my pharmacist and I discovered that there are two companies that make perphenazine in Canada, and neither one makes the liquid form.

I don’t know about a wider range of meds, but it certainly seems if you are psychotic and lactose-intolerant in Canada you are out of luck. Yet, I can’t believe there is nothing else they can put in those tablets besides lactose.

Oh well. Just one more side-effect to learn to live with.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

